The UWC Golden Rule and Tough Tuesdays

out-of-orderWhen students walk into the Writing Center, I am one of the first things people see, and sometimes, I hate that.

Tuesdays are the worst for me. I have four classes, the first one beginning at eight o’clock that morning, and then I work my longest shift that afternoon and evening. For someone who requires at least seven hours of sleep to function above the level of “brain-dead zombie,” it can be ridiculously difficult to be the bright-eyed, bushy-tailed greeter for nervous students.

I’ve been scared of phones since toddlerhood. Asking strangers questions is one of my greatest fears. Why in the world am I a receptionist?

Because I can think of no other job that allows me to help and love on people quite so much.Golden-Rule-1

If I can assist a student in getting ready for his or her consultation and make him or her laugh in the process, I have accomplished something I feel is important. If the student is at ease, he or she thinks more clearly and is more willing to listen to what his or her consultant suggests. The consultant’s job is made easier, and the student’s paper is improved.

There’s a reason this works so well, one that guides me every day, even when I’m not at work. It can be phrased something like this: “If you really keep the royal law found in Scripture, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself,’ you are doing right” (James 2:8).

Pretty straightforward, no? Loving others is right. Note that James doesn’t really specify what “loving your neighbor” is 4.-Follow-the-Golden-Rulesupposed to look like. I take this to mean that we show different kinds of love in different situations. To love on students, I show them that I am their friend, that we do everything we can to help them. To love on consultants, I help keep their workspace clean and keep records organized.

Cheesy? Yes. Have you heard this before? Probably. But if this weren’t true, my job would be completely pointless.

Tough Tuesdays are a little easier when I get to pour love into others. It sounds like a paradox, and perhaps it is, but I personally wouldn’t have it any other way.

~ Catherine

Leave a Reply

