To write or not to write…

I intend to journal. I plan to blog. I mean to write down the thoughts that sift through my head, but unfortunately, good intentions only go so far.

Writing for school is simple; it’s due by a specific time, so I get it done. For myself, it is much more difficult. There are so many events, feelings, and blessings that I know would be beneficial to remember, but I can never seem to get them on paper.

So, to write or not to write, that is the question.

Do I just forget wanting to keep a documentation of life? I have so many other things to do; the list is endless. The thoughts I find worth going back over always seem to come when I’m right in the middle of something else, and byjournal-011 the time I’m finished, I’ve forgotten them. School papers, grocery shopping, and hanging out with friends are all more important and limited by time, whereas journaling or blogging is not. “I can do it tonight right before I go to bed,” I think. By that time, though, I’m so tired and already worrying about what else I have to do that I put it off again. As I reread school assignments or little excerpts I’d managed to write, I cringe at how awful they sound: would I even go back and read a journal? Such musing hinders me.
If I were able to make it a habit, though, if I were to write regularly, it would remind me what it feels like when my little brother gives me hugs for no reason. It would show life’s Journal 20 May 2010roller coaster in a way I could not see before. I could go back and remember how my pets followed me around the house, or how my father sacrificed time to be with us. A journal might allow me to revisit the feelings and perspective of another time, and perhaps help someone else going through the same thing. Personally, I tend to live in the present; I adapt to what is happening and how I feel now, and have trouble recalling different times. Writing down life’s occurrences as they come may even assist my memory and recollection abilities.

With this in mind, I choose to write, like I choose to pray, invest, and work out.

Does this sound familiar? Have you been struggling to write beyond the necessary?

Allow me to leave you with a word of encouragement:

“A failure is not always a mistake. It may simply be the best one can do under the circumstances. The real mistake is to stop trying.” B. F. Skinner

Written By Julia

5 thoughts on “To write or not to write…

  1. Dear Julia,

    You sound just like me. You should write.Cherish each and every moment that passes and save them like words brimming through your heart. All the best 🙂 Eagerly waiting to read more from you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always have this trouble with journaling with the exact series of thoughts. I really want to write what I’m thinking and feeling as a young mother because it’s waaay harder than I anticipated. There’s no way I could have anticipated it, either – I knew all about the events that would happen with a baby, knew them very well, understood mothering is hard, and yet the sheer difficulty of it still took me by surprise. I want to journal this because when she is no longer a baby, when she’s a mother herself (y’know, assuming she will be), maybe my journal will be a comfort to her.

    Also I’m tickled by your quote since it doesn’t seem like something Skinner would have said. (I’m not saying you have it wrong, just that I’m amused he apparently said that.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

