Questions About Labor Day

Cariliee Labor Day

Questions about Labor Day

As a college student, I usually think of Labor Day as “that time when I go back to school but then immediately get a day off.” Yay. Thank you, America, for throwin’ off my groove. After painfully adapting to Life-After-Summer, I get to experience all the feels of freedom before cruelly returning to class. It’s like a horrible joke. Also, I’ve always wondered why people celebrate the American labor system by resting. How does that make sense? Wouldn’t it be more appropriate to erect a statue or something?

This is why I don’t make up the holidays.

Apparently, Labor Day is all about celebrating the accomplishments of the American workforce. And we have come a long way since the Industrial Revolution, with child labor laws in place, laws against monopolies, and unions established to “protect” workers’ interests.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that I hate Labor Day; what I hate is coming back to reality after a three day weekend. You would too if you spent Labor Day at my house. My family’s barbecue is not something you want to miss.

However, Labor Day does inspire an attitude of gratitude. I am thankful that I have a job, that I am physically able to work and put myself through school when others may not be able to do so. I am thankful for the things that God has helped me to accomplish. Also, jobs in the United States often pay much better wages than other countries around the world, which makes me grateful to be an American worker. I am thankful for breaks and days spent outdoors, out of class, and off of work. Class and work are both good things, but I prize my free time because it provides a chance to de-stress, and as a college student, those moments are few and far between.

So, when you are hit with harsh reality on Tuesday morning, do whatever you need to do to keep it together. I know I’ll be putting my hard-earned money to work at Starbucks in a desperate attempt to fortify myself with espresso.

Written by Carilee

Photo credit weheartit.com

Leave a Reply

