Look Ahead, Stay Present

Have you ever wished that you could see your future? That, just for one moment, you could supersede time and space to learn what lies ahead? To be prepared for whatever life throws your way?

Sometimes I find myself pondering the very same questions. If I know what comes next, I’ll be a less anxious person, right? I won’t make as many mistakes. Right?

Wrong.

As much as I would like to believe that I can take a look at my life from a bird’s eye view and calmly handle whatever the future brings, the truth is that I would fail miserably. Looking ahead to discover what kind of job I’ll have after grad school or how many grandchildren I’ll get to meet sounds appealing, but I’m convinced it would be a disastrous choice. First of all, I think I would be more fearful of hard times to come; I would worry much more about surmounting future obstacles, and let me just tell ya – I worry enough as it is. I am fearful – yet prideful – enough as it is. I struggle with dependency on God enough as it is. If I knew ahead of time what grade I’d make on my midterm or that I would lose my job in approximately six months, what would induce me to trust God? How could I continue to do my best and leave the results to the Lord if all my energy was being spent on plotting and planning moves and countermoves to events that haven’t even taken place yet? (That isn’t meant to negate planning ahead, but there is only so much you can do when you can’t even see tomorrow.) Above all, I want to do the best I can with what I am given, today. I want to lean on God and not my own pride.

Also, have you ever stopped to think about what propels you into the future? Today. Now. The present. The decisions you make today will change the rest of your life. The root of the matter is that I usually waste time pursuing things that I don’t have while failing to realize the tremendous blessings and opportunities I have already been given. Here’s hoping that we can learn to be thankful for where God has placed us today instead of worrying about tomorrow.

By Carilee

Leave a Reply

