Going Home for School Breaks

School breaks are the appetizer to the summer entrée. They are scattered throughout the school year and are a small window in which to spend some time with family. Although college may seem like the best time in life, and you may not want to go home, being with family is a sweet period of time not to be neglected. Here are some reasons why I love going home:

We eat all our meals together. We sit around the table, not having seen each other for months, and simply talk and joke and tell stories about how the roommates almost burnt the apartment to the ground trying to make pancakes. When mom asks who wants to go to the grocery store with her, I am the first one to volunteer. (Maybe I will even get a special treat from the candy section.) If I am going to the mall, my brother now asks if he can come with me. What?! It is strange how time and distance can make people with the weakest bonds grow closer when they are together again.

awkward

And you cannot forget the dreaded awkward family portrait that must be taken every time everyone is home. We pick on each other but still say “I love you” when we leave because sometimes, family is all that matters. Since we must go two or three months without hugs or kisses on the forehead from loving parents during breaks, we cherish the time we have together until the call of school beckons us to return. I love waking up to a home full of memories. These past experiences are both enjoyable and deplorable. However, taking the time to come home and be with my family has improved my relationships with them more than I ever hoped for. I choose to make them a priority in my life when it comes to breaks from college and so should you. Together, memories are made that can never be replaced or replicated.

If you seem to find yourself not wanting to go home because of family problems or other issues, I encourage you to not forget that family is important, if not the most important thing in life. It is a good thing to reconcile relationships before the opportunity has passed. Always make time for the (second)[1] most valuable relationship in your life: family.

Written by Maddie

 

[1] The first most valuable relationship is with Jesus Christ.

Photo credits: bluemarblegod.com and brassmonkeyshow.com

Leave a Reply

