The Beauty of Road Trips

I love road trips. Whether there is a set destination or not, the path I take to get from point A to point B is entirely up to me. I could leave the day before and get to stay an extra night, I could leave a couple of days early to extend my drive and visit other cities and towns, or I could simply leave late enough to get there just in time. The options are endless when it comes to the route and duration. Of course road trips are fun when I am by myself; however, when two or three others join in, the entertainment never stops. (Plus, we can switch out drivers whenever one of us gets tired.) No longer is it only me singing along to the radio while trying not to fall asleep, but it is a whole car full of crazy, tired, and delirious people jamming out to the random stations we can find in backwoods towns. Friendships are strengthened and memories are made on road trips.

road

In this age of technology, it is quite easy to simply take a selfie, put a hashtag about the moment, and save that memory forever. However, as effective as that method is, I would like to recommend a different one. Throughout a road trip, I journal about what has happened so far. Although that may seem a bit inconvenient and time-consuming, I find that it further solidifies my experience. When my pen connects to paper, the sights, smells, and thoughts that occur suddenly become more and more real. After I return home and reread my entries, it is as if they had just happened the day before. There is something magical that happens when I write things down. When looking back, I also learn new things that I had not noticed before. Although I do not want journaling to take up precious time during a road trip, it is a simple way to combine all that happened. Journaling is not only great for road trips, but also for all experiences; so JOURNAL! Write anything and everything down, whether good or bad, because there is so much to learn from memories. I definitely recommend any and all road trip opportunities.

Written by Maddison

Photo Credits:

http://www.theflashpack.co.uk/wp/if-you-could-go-on-any-road-trip-where-would-you-go/http://r.search.yahoo.com/_ylt=AwrB8qAHU_tVUwkA8SCQnIlQ;_ylu=X3oDMTBxNG1oMmE2BHNlYwNmcC1hdHRyaWIEc2xrA3J1cmwEaXQD/RV=2/RE=1442562951/RO=11/RU=http%3a%2f%2fblog.carchex.com%2fcost-cutting-tips-for-summer-road-trips%2f/RK=0/RS=hwEMsu1hqPfUHhB0lK2XskV1LWM-

Leave a Reply

