10 Survival Tips for College Freshmen

I’ve been in college for all of five weeks, so I’m pretty much an expert now. Yet even in my limited time, I’ve gained some insights into which habits help me thrive and which ones make me prone to breakdown in front of a Disney movie, scribbling away my sorrows in a coloring book. (Target has coloring books for two dollars…but you didn’t hear that from me.)

1: Nap whenever possible.

But always, always set an alarm. It’s cute how you think you won’t fall asleep for more than twenty minutes. Ha!

2: Eat Grab and Go Food

Those pre-packaged sandwiches and salads by the door of the cafeteria? Yeah, you aren’t above them. Try it next time you need to eat lunch in a hurry. You’ll more than likely never go back to the dark side.

3: Coffee.

Who are we? Students! What are we? Tired! What do we need in an IV right now? Coffee! If you aren’t a coffee drinker, become one. Personally, I don’t believe that tea cuts the mustard, but you may certainly try it. *pats head*

4: Take dat shuttle.

You’re not too cool for the shuttle. I know that when school first starts, we’re all forming huddle circles, chanting about our mutual determination to not gain the freshmen fifteen. But walking across campus five times a day with thirty pounds of books on your back gets real old real fast. Who knows? The shuttle drivers could become your best friends. They’re usually pretty nice people when they don’t almost close the sliding door against your backpack on your way out.

5: Look pitiful in order to score rides

I don’t know about you, but at my university, all freshmen are required to park their cars at the bottom of the hill, near the entrance. Meanwhile, our dorms are up the giant, steep hill. And lemme tell ya, coming back to campus on a Sunday night and trying to walk up the dark hill while carrying your laundry and your books, isn’t the jolliest thing I’ve ever done. At times, upperclassmen are kind enough to offer rides in their snazzy vehicles that get to park wherever they choose. Yet in order to ensure a ride, I would recommend walking with a hunched back, drooping your shoulders, and dragging your feet. If possible, play the sad Charlie Brown theme as you walk.

6: Nap

Oh, did I mention napping? It’s worth repeating: Nap!

7: Get a Planner

Get ready, this is an actual piece of advice. Your phone won’t cut it. What if you lose it, or it dies at a crucial moment when you need a reminder? It’s time to go back to the primitive ages of pen and paper.

8: Find an Outlet to Keep Sane

I’m currently watching Parks and Rec for the second time whenever I need to wind down. And you know what? I appreciate it much more this time around. Sometimes, all you need is a laugh to remind that you are indeed a human, and not a studying robot. Go rest in a hammock, look at the stars, watch Netflix. Whatever your relaxation method is, allot a small amount of time for it every day.

9: Don’t, spend, your, money!

What’s a savings account? I don’t know anymore, cause it’s practically all gone *sobs*. The other day, I unashamedly washed out of my coffee cup with Sauve shampoo…listen, we didn’t have any dish soap, and I’m pretty sure it got the job done. See? Frugality encourages creativity.

10: And Finally…

Don’t forget to nap. 😉

I don’t want to be cheesy, but I do want to wish you gouda luck with the rest of your semester. We’re all in this together!

Written by Karoline

Image credit: http://img.sparknotes.com/content/sparklife/sparktalk/scaredstudentbooks082112_LargeWide.jpg

Leave a Reply

