Nameless Chapter 4

I needed strength. I forgot the goal that required achievement. I continued to think one day it would come back to me, but by the time I entered a neighboring village, the thought still never arrived. After the guards at the gate allowed me in, the village that greeted me felt so much more normal. The strangers that passed paid no mind to me and not a single person spoke a word. I felt more comfortable in this village that met my expectations: Dodasa.

I rested briefly on a bench as I ate the bread given to me. Then I carried on towards the military office, I observed how this different place opposed the place I woke up in. Clouds covered the sky. Tall fences guarded each establishment from the people beyond. No one outside did anything besides walk to their next destination. When I entered the military office, explaining that I would like to train and fight with them, they asked for my name. I knew I had to give an answer, so I gave them the only syllables that came to mind, “Hera.”

“And family name?” the intimidating woman asked.

I replied honestly this time, “I don’t have one.”

“Orphan?”
            I gave her a quick nod.

“Well, we will take anyone as long as you won’t hinder us,” she explained.

The woman told me to come back tomorrow for a fitness test. Realizing I had nowhere to rest, I halted penniless and alone asking if any strangers would open their doors to me, but I continued to be ignored. Eventually, I traveled outside the gates and camped out in the woods near the walls. In the morning, I ate the bread I had left. Then, I arrived at the office again determined to prove myself.

I followed the instructions given to me and performed as best I could to prove I would become a good warrior. After I completed every task, the examiner gave his verdict, “You’ll do.” Those were his only words. I left that day with a uniform, instructions, and a key for a room at the military training sight. I finally had a place to stay, but I could not call it my own.

Across from my bed stood another bed with a mid-aged woman laying on top. She introduced herself as Daphne and rarely spoke to me after. I woke up every morning and participated in training for Dodasa’s army. I listened to their instructions, put my upmost effort into gaining strength, and followed them into their battles. However, they looked down on me as an outsider with no family name. They hated it when I spoke or suggested alternative methods, so I spoke to no one. I looked up to no one. I grew stronger for no one.

Often, I sat alone at my desk trying to remember my goal, the reason I desired strength so much. Despite my persistence, my reason never revealed itself. Regardless of this, my will never dulled. I worked twice as hard as my peers and surpassed them. I pushed passed the physical tolls, so that I would no longer be looked at as weak. I always returned from the battles because I still needed to do something unforeseen to me. No longer would I be tossed aside, considered unworthy to fight.

I trained so hard every day, my whole body ached in pain, but it was worth it for the goal that was still hidden from me. I became known as one of the strongest warriors in Dodasa’s army, but that did not mean I would always be needed. When Daphne retired after years of service, I got a room to myself. Soon, my body started to imitate hers. I stopped improving, but instead started to decay. I got slower, weaker, and my bones crackled. I kept rejecting retirement, but one day they told me to pack my bags, saying “Go home, Hera.”

Where?” I thought. As I packed my belongings, I found stuffed deep in my bag a mechanical toy. It surprised me and soon occupied my focus. I tore it apart and reassembled it with ease. I glanced at it every day wondering its origin. I began tinkering again as an old hobby that used to be a habit. I made more toys out of spare rubble, fixed the door hinges in the room I rented, and even made miniatures of weapons out of the images that that popped into my head. I filled my small apartment with a variety of inventions and at my desk existed a display of a walled off village across a bridge. However, every invention I made sat unused.

My mind haunted that room. I desired to get stronger, but I could no longer physically fulfill that request. The best I could do was create and innovate to improve what I could. However, Dodasa’s people saw me as a shut-in and refused to know any outsider. Even when I possessed the confidence to offer assistance with my inventions, they shouted at me to leave them alone. I grew more and more isolated, until a knock at my door intruded my ears.

I thought I heard wrong. Maybe something fell or the sound came from a ghost. I ignored it, but eventually another knock came louder than before. Then, the sound repeated until the door opened. The intruder was a tall, young woman with long black hair and a hood that covered her eyes. Her clothes were completely out of the ordinary, but she composed herself with confidence. She told me the story of a little girl who saved a hopeless village but ended it before the happy ending. I told her that the story needs a conclusion where the girl comes home to the village, and they celebrate the miracle. The young storyteller replied, “Then come with me,” she continued, “You have been gone from your home too long.”

I went with her out of curiosity and on the way, she slowly revealed more things about the girl. “She was an inventor. She lived with the blacksmith and his family. She wasn’t raised in the village but called it home. Just as she rescued the village from its oppressors so did the village for her. She considered everyone there her family!” Then she said, “Her name was Hera!”

We walked into a wilted, gloomy land. The stranger and I entered through an open space between large, cracked stone walls. There were many buildings but no people. With tears in my eyes I exclaimed, “I failed. I’m sorry. I failed to protect my home!” The hooded lady escaped my mind and the only thought left was an apology to a forgotten me.

We approached a small, fenced area with many engraved stone tablets on the ground. This place appeared to be the only maintained area within the walls. “Colin,” “Dimitris,” “Ajax,” “Eleni,” and “Evander,” all appeared on a plaque. I remembered Evander, my friend that took me in and who became like my father. In front of his grave, stood a family. A man looked at the two graves holding his children’s hands, telling them about their grandparents. Eventually, he turned around and faced me. His children stepping behind him. He told them in a soft voice, “Don’t be afraid. She is your aunt who saved my village.” He looked at me with a smile and tears in his eyes, “Hera?”

I still barely remembered any memories, but I knew that he was family. His children called out to me, “Auntie, where have you been?!” I stayed silent. Then, their father answered, “She’s been here, watching over the village even after everyone has gone!” He approached me and said, “You’re family, I grew up hearing my parents talk about the sister I had, and they knew you would return to see them.”

One of his children clutched my hand, “Come home with us!” she ordered. I answered, “I will. I promise I will never leave my family again.” We walked together past all the older buildings and through the entrance. Just before we left, I turned to the lady and comforted her, “You didn’t fail; here is your happy ending.”  Finally, I went home to meet my family once more with Helios.

Written by: Rachel Caña

Image Credit

Leave a comment